On June 18, 1960, Gingoog became a chartered city by virtue of Republic Act No. 2668 which was signed by President Carlos P. Garcia. The law that vested the charter status upon the city was authored by the late Congressman Fausto Dugenio.

The city was created during the incumbency of Municipal Mayor Julio Ganaban and Vice Mayor Arturo S. Lugod. The first elected City Mayor and City Vice Mayor were Honorable Domingo de Lara and Romulo S. Rodriguez, respectively. The Local Chief Executives from 1960 up to present are as follows:

Julio J. Ganaban - 1960-1963 (By operation of law)

Domingo C. de Lara - 1964-1967 (Elected)

Romulo S. Rodriguez, Jr. - 1968-1971 (Elected)

Arturo S. Lugod - 1972-1975 (Elected)

Arturo S. Lugod - 1976-Sept. 1978 (Hold-over capacity)

Miguel P. Paderanga - Oct. 1978-Feb. 1980 (Appointed)

Miguel P. Paderanga - Mar. 1980-Feb. 1986 (Elected)

Arturo S. Lugod - Feb. 1986-Nov. 1987 (Appointed)

Benjamin G. Guimong - Dec. 1987-Jan. 1988 (Appointed)

Arturo S. Lugod - 1988-1992 (Elected)

Arturo S. Lugod - 1992-May 1994 (Elected)

Romulo S. Rodriguez, Jr. - May 1994-1995 (Succession)

Romulo S. Rodriguez, Jr. - 1995-1998 (Elected)

Romulo S. Rodriguez, Jr. - 1998-2001 (Elected)

Romulo S. Rodriguez, Jr. - 2001-2004 (Elected)

Ruth L. Guingona - 2004-2007 (Elected)

Ruth L. Guingona - 2007-2010 (Elected)

Ruth L. Guingona - 2010-2013 (Elected)

Marie L. Guingona - 2013-2016 (Elected)

Marie L. Guingona - 2016-2019 (Elected)

Erick G. Cañosa - 2019-2022 (Elected)

Erick G. Cañosa - 2019-Present (Elected)

The incumbent Local Chief Executive is City Mayor Erick G. Cañosa
The Presiding Officer of the Local Legislative Body is Vice Mayor Peter M. Unabia

The present members of the legislative body (the Sangguniang Panlungsod) that formulate policies through the exercise of their regulatory and law-making powers are the following City Councilors, to wit:

Councilor Evelyn G. Cañosa
Councilor Thaddeus P. Lugod
Councilor Marlon C. Kho
Councilor Winfred T. Militante, Jr.
Councilor April Rose S. Vosotros
Councilor Judeline I. Bernaldez
Councilor Jerome G. Mercado
Councilor Myrna S. Motoomull
Councilor Roy E. Aniscal
Councilor Conrado R. Gomez, Jr.
Councilor Robert J. De Lara - ABC President
Councilor Estoriano S. Mandahinog

Gingoog was enmeshed with the most severe economic crisis in the late sixties which was brought about by the inflation rate of the peso and the lowest crop production in decades.  This was worsened by the infestation of the dreaded coffee borers in coffee farms coupled with the low buying price of coffee.  In later years, the city‟s electric service was stopped when CEPALCO withdrew its electric power services leaving the city without power and light, plunging the city into darkness. 

On December 17, 1978, the city finally restored its electric power supply through the National Government Electrification Program.  Electric power of the city was provided by MORESCO II, which put Gingoog back on the road to progress again. The influx of investors, the establishment of business and small scales industries as well as the people's hard work, were important factors of the city's progress. 

The impact of infrastructure development and the utilization of agricultural resources boosted the trade, commerce and industry, bringing back the city to life.  In 1982, Gingoog, from a mere third class city was upgraded to a first class city.  By 1984, it was adjudged as the most outstanding component city throughout Region 10.

Then EDSA REVOLUTION came in 1986. The local government faced the challenge of restoring back the people's faith in the government. The concept of reconciliation and economic recovery propelled the city to a new era with high hopes of alleviating the standard of living of the populace.

The economic recovery program continued when President Fidel V. Ramos bannered the Vision “Philippines 2000” with the end in view of transforming our country as one of the Economic Tigers in Asia.  The thrust of the present administration created a momentum of positive business atmosphere around the country.  Along this thrust, the local government of Gingoog then was moving forward with its socio-economic development program of the city. Massive infrastructure projects such as the road construction/development complemented with efficient local governance paved the way to a more dynamic economic activities in the city. 

Under the incumbent city officialdom, the influx of investors and the increase in commercial and industrial activities are expected in the years to come. 

In this era, the city government administration shall deliver an effective approach through its strategic direction GOLD which translates to G-ood Governance and Transparency, O-pportunities for Agriculture and Tourism Development, L-ivelihood Development and D-elivery of Health, Education and Social Services.  

This strategic direction will galvanize the attainment of a progressive and prosperous Gingoog City.


Dakbayan nga Palaran
Yutang Bulahan
Dangpanan sa Katawhan
Nga Nangita’g kabuhian.

Bukid, Sapa, kabay-bayonan
Buhong sa Grasya ug Katahum
Dapit Pinili sa Kahitas-an
Aron mahimong Puluy-anan.

Mutya sa Mindanao, Akong Gingoog
Yuta ko’ng Natawhan, Dili Ko Malimtan
Ikaw Pagasilbihan, sa Kusog ug Kaalam
Aron Magpabilin Ka’ng Palaran
Hangtud sa Kahangturan.

Dakbayan nga Palaran, Gingoog nga Bulahan
Mangabon, Lumot, Balatukan
Bantayog nga Imo’ng Gi-ampingan
Badiangon, Banta-awan, Bakid-bakid
Garbo sa Kinaiyahan
Niining Dapit, Molupyo sa Lungsod ug Kabukiran
Nakigbisog Aron Ka Kasilbihan.

(Repeat Refrain then Fade)